I Oppose the Emergency Economic Stabilization Act of 2008

Here is a letter I’ve sent to my congresswoman and both my senators. I encourage you to do the same. Feel free to take this and use it as your own.

Dear Senator/Congressman/Congresswoman,

I STRONGLY oppose the Emergency Economic Stabilization Act of 2008. Please vote against this bill. This plan puts too much power in the hands of the executive branch, puts 700 billion taxpayer dollars at risk, encourages unbridled risk taking in the future by financial institutions, and will not help me out a stitch. Sure, my 401(k) and stocks are going to be severely beat down over the next several years as we go through a recession but I don’t care. The stock market does that sometimes and I can handle it. Credit will be available, but it will probably cost more, which is good – look where cheap credit has got us! And yes, home prices will continue to fall – and so they should! They are still way too high. Where I live most first time homebuyers cannot afford even a 2 bedroom condo – even with two incomes.

There is no good reason you should support this. You are being rolled by the administration. Not that I think they are being malicious, just that they are blowing the problem completely out of proportion.

Let me reiterate how strongly I feel about this issue. In the long term, this plan is bad for working class Americans. It is bad for me and my family. If you vote to pass this bill, I will hold you accountable at the polls and do everything in my power to convince everyone I know to do the same.

Thank you.

Leave a Reply

